History of Bowls (Continued) - Page 2

English Bowling Association (Continued)

1974 The Over 60's Singles and Pairs competition was introduced, as was the Under 25's National Singles.
After 15 years at Mortlake the National Championships were staged at Beach House Park, Worthing.
1976  It was agreed that a national headquarters be established at Worthing. Also agreed to form a National Umpires Association
1977 The minimum age for play in the National Championships was reduced to 14 years.
1978 The 75th Anniversary of the EBA was not only marked by the production of 30,000 celebratory badges, but by a major administrative consolidation. New offices were set up at Bourrnemouth with a full time Secretary - Jimmy Elms, and three part time staff plus a typist/book-keeper.
The first Trustees of the EBA were appointed: E.J. Crosbie MBE, JP; R. Bentley; L.D'Arcy-Drayton; and E.T. Marsh.
The Kodak Masters Bowls Tournament was played at Beach House Park with sponsorship of £8,500 and television coverage by the BBC.
David Bryant, MBE won the Gold Medal for Singles at the Commonwealth Games in Edmonton, for the fourth successive time.
1979  The English Bowls Coaching Scheme was inaugurated.
1980  The EBA Charity Trust was established. David Bryant, MBE won the Singles at the World Championships in Frankston, Australia, and with Tony Alcock and Jimmy Hobday won the Triples. England won the 'Leonard Trophy'
1981 Bowls International magazine began production.
1982 A Pro-Celebrity Bowls match was played and televised at Beach House Park, with John Bond, Joe Gormley, Roy Kinnear, and Rex Williams partnering John Dunn, Mal Hughes, David Bryant, and John Bell respectively. Williams and Bell won the event.
Watneys Brewery ended its sponsorship of the National Championships after 25 years of faithful support. Gateway Building Society stepped into the breach with funding to the sum of £20,000.
1984  The England rink of George Turley, Julian Haines, John Bell and Tony Allcock won the gold medal at the World Championships at Aberdeen.
The minimum age for playing in the National Championships was discontinued and, subject to acceptance by a Club, a member may be of any age.
1985  The Greens Maintenance Advisory Service was launched with a National Administrator, eight Regional Coordinators, and a representative in each County.
1987 The EBA opened its purpose built Headquarters at Lyndhurst Road, Worthing, on Friday, 21st June, and the new Secretary, David Johnson, and his Deputy Fred Inch, moved in on Monday, 24th.
David Bryant, MBE, won the Gateway Masters for the fourth time. Long serving former secretary Jimmy Elms made an MBE.
The Over 60's competitions became the Over 55's.
1988 The England team won medals in all disciplines at the World Championships, and the Gold medal for the Team event.
Singles matches became 25 up with the minimum jack length 70 feet.
1989 Tony Allcock made a member (MBE) of the Order of the British Empire. David Bryant, MBE won the Woolwich Masters Singles.
1990  Admission charges were introduced for the first time for the EBA National Championships.
1991   The first Junior International Trial was held at New Lount BC, Leicestershire. Singles reverted to 21 shots up. England won the British Isles team championship, held at Ebbw Vale, for the 9th successive year.
1992    World Championships held at Worthing - Tony Allcock wins the Singles, but Scotlad push the England team into second place. The England fours team created a world record win against Japan 69shots - 5 shots.
EBA's Public Liability Insurance Scheme for all affiliated Clubs was approved and introduced.
1993   The Under 25's Inter County Double Rink competition was held for the first time, won by Essex who beat Cornwall in the final.
A new points system was introduced for the Middleton Cup in the Preliminary stages - 2 pts for each winning rink and 10 pts for the win.
The EBA buys a share in the World Bowls Magazine.
1995   With over 40,000 members the EBA agreed to introduce membership card scheme. Inaugural meeting to establish a European Bowls Union.
1996   George Shaw commences work as Secretary of the EBA. The 'World Bowls Tour' was formed, comprising the 'Professional Bowls Association'; the 'World Bowls Board'; and the 'World Indoor Bowls Council'. EBA increased share in World Bowls Magazine to 35%
Coloured shirts were approved for use by County representatives in the National Championships.
All England team members won Gold medals at the World Championships in Adelaide - Tony Allcock, Singles, and Brett Morley,David Cutler,John Bell, and Andy Thomson in the Fours.
1998   Bowls received £20m from the National Lottery since its inauguration. Proposals begin to be drawn up for England's bowling associations to benefit from a unified approach to seek funding and assistance for improved performance.
Bowls International Magazine buys up publishing rights of the World Bowls magazine. Bowlers of the Year awards schemes introduced following suggestion of David Rhys-Jones with the first senior recipient being Les Gillett and the first junior recipient being Nicky Brett.
1999   The EBA sets up its own website to be used to publicise the service and facilities of the Association. 12 countries now members of the European Bowls Union, and former EBA President Roy Peacock was elected its first President.
2000   Dr W.G. Grace made a comeback when it was agreed to get a bust made to be placed at the entrance to the EBA Headquarters.
It was agreed to unify all world governing bodies with the Headquarter to be located in Edinburgh. The World Bowls Board and bowls manufacturers agreed to have a common testing table, a common surface, a common chute, and common release system - a major break through for all bowls testing. Ken Woodcock was appointed Deputy Secretary of the EBA. Proposals were well in hand to provide a funded plan to prepare England's Commonwelth Games team. The second phase was to be the unification of the four national associations for flat green bowls. England did not perform as well as expected in the World Championships at Johannesburg, finishing 7th overall.
2001   At a meeting on the 9th April at Royal Leamington Spa all four national associations are addressed on the purpose and benefit of unification. Scotland BA withdrew from the British Isles Championships following disagreement over the financial contribution of each country. Unification infomation packs were supplied to all English Clubs. Lottery funding of £373k granted for the preparation of the England Commonwelth Games team. The flag of every County affiliated to the EBA were flown for the first time at the National Championships at Worthing. The England team won the British Isles Series in Belfast.
2002   England win the British Isles Team Championship being unbeaten. At the Commonwealth Games in Manchester the Fours team of John Ottoway, Simon Skelton, Robert Newman, and David Holt took the Gold medal by beating Soutth Africa in the Final. Dean Morgan and Stephen Farish were narrowly beaten by World Champions George Sneddon and Alex Marshall in the pairs, to take the Silver medal.
2003   The EBA achieved its century

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player