This is a partnership initiative which was originally set up to provide a pathway to develop the sport for young people under the age of 18 years, and partners at that time included:


Bowls England  - The English Indoor Bowling Association - The English Bowls Umpires Association - Bowls Development Alliance


Bowls England ended its partnership in about 2012, and in 2016 the Scheme changed its age range, and the upper limit is now 16 years.  The two groups within that age are:  Under 12 years and 12-16 years.


The Scheme’s National Officers are: Chairman Bernard Millard, 7 Barton Hamlet, Great Barton, Bury St Edmunds                                          

                                                                                          Suffolk, IP31 2PP  Email: janmillard005@btinternet.com

                                    Scheme Secretary:  Jeremy TOWLE, 23, Axmouth Driver, Mapperley, Nottinghamshire NG3 5SX

                                                                                                   Tel 01157 528780   Email:  jeremy.towle@sky.com


The country is split into 6 Regions, and each region has an organiser to arrange Regional Schools of Excellence for the participating Counties, with qualifying young players in two age groups (Under 15 years & 15-18 years) taking part in the National Final School of Excellence, which is held annually at outdoor and indoor venues on a rotational basis.


The School of Excellence at County, Regional and National level, consists of a series of short matches, played in small groups on a ‘round robin’ basis, plus a number of skills exercises undertaken on an individual basis with a scale of points awarded.   The top scoring players then play semi-finals and finals to establish the top player in each age group and by gender.


The records will show that a number of our current Junior and Senior Internationals came through the EBYDS in their early years of bowling, and they valued the encouragement and direction which the scheme gave them.




Northamptonshire, in common with many other Counties, established under the auspices of the EBYDS, its own scheme two years later in 2006, and at that time the four County Associations (indoor and outdoor men and women) formed the membership in equal numbers with delegates from each to form a group to organise the County School of Excellence.    Bowls Northamptonshire (BN) is now the body for male and female outdoor bowling, and the revised Constitution reflects this.


The NBYDS under the guidance of its County Co-ordinators, firstly Andy Purcell, and then more latterly Irene Scoble, went from strength to strength, and with the encouragement from parents, clubs, coaches, and the Associations, participation by young bowlers in both age groups is very good, with around 50 youngsters taking part.


In addition to the School of Excellence, the NBYDS arranges competitions, both indoor and out, each year, with trophies, kindly presented by various individual supporters of the scheme, available to be won.


The current County officers of the Scheme are:


Chairmen: Brenice Willmott & John Cooper (BN); Keith Howlett (NIBA);  Heather Lack (NWIBA) who take the chair for one year in rotation.

Secretary: Christine Cooper,  Email:  johnchriscooper@googlemail.com

Treasurer: Christine Cooper (above)  Temporary Treasurer

Co-ordinator: Vacant at present




Chairmen's Photographs as follows:



                                                                                Photo awaited

































                Photo Awaited                                      Photo Awaited



Brenice Willmott

BN Women's Section

Keith Howlett,


Heather Lack



County Co-ordinator

Vacant at Present

Steve Cooper

Safeguarding Officer for the County

Chris Cooper

Hon Secretary & Temporary Hon Treasurer

Velda Cooper

B.N. - Women's Section

John Cooper

BN Men's Section

Andy Purcell, Founding County Coordinator for the NBYDS who retired from the Management Committee in 2012, is pictured left, and on the receiving a gift from the 2011 Chairman, Brenice Willmott

Barry Basford

County Coaching Coordinator